& Vision

Early Milestones Colorado is a nonprofit organization that advances success for young children by accelerating innovation, the use of best practices, and systemic change. We work to ensure that all children and families, especially those who have been historically marginalized, have access to the opportunities and resources needed to be valued, healthy, and thriving. Learn more about our commitment.


In the early 2000s, hundreds of stakeholders created a plan to increase coordination and generate better results across the early childhood system. Since then, Colorado has made great progress in implementing this plan, called the “three-legged stool.” Launched in 2015 by a group of Colorado’s leading early childhood funders, Early Milestones serves as the third “leg” — an agile, flexible nonprofit to support local and state efforts, accelerate public goals, spur innovation, and work toward sustainable, large-scale impact.

Early Milestones is a proud recipient of the 2019 El Pomar Foundation Award for Excellence.


Our team offers a combined 86 years of work in the field of early childhood and over 130 years of service in health, early care and learning, education, family social work, local and state government, strategic communications, finance, and law. Early Milestones staff include Buell Early Childhood Leadership Fellows; a Colorado Civic DNA Fellow; a Denver Court Appointed Special Advocate; hikers and travelers; musicians, crafters, and athletes; and parents, aunts, and uncles.

Katie Danna-Poston View Bio

Katie Danna-Poston

Project Manager
Suzanne Delap View Bio

Suzanne Delap

Research & Policy Fellow
Meg Franko View Bio

Meg Franko

Director of Research & Policy
Andrew Keating View Bio

Andrew Keating

Senior Communications Manager
Kacee Miller View Bio

Kacee Miller

Project Director
Jennifer Nash View Bio

Jennifer Nash

Director of Operations
Katie Nicolaou View Bio

Katie Nicolaou

Research & Policy Intern
Gerardo Silva-Padrón View Bio

Gerardo Silva-Padrón

Research & Policy Intern
Jennifer Stedron View Bio

Jennifer Stedron

Executive Director
Courtney Thornton View Bio

Courtney Thornton

Senior Coordinator
Tanya Weinberg View Bio

Tanya Weinberg

Project Director
Esperanza Ybarra View Bio

Esperanza Ybarra

Director of Innovative & Best Practices

Board of

Bruce Atchison, Chair

PrincipalEducation Commission of the States

Yee-Ann Cho

Associate Dean, Chief Operating OfficerUniversity of Denver, Daniels College of Business

Steffanie Clothier

Investment Director, Child DevelopmentGary Community Investments

Thomas C. Davidson

County CommissionerSummit County Colorado

Elaine Grossman, Secretary

Director of Strategic PartnershipsValley Settlement

Gloria Higgins, Treasurer

Managing MemberRuby Insights, LLC

Patricia Lepiani

PresidentThe Idea Marketing

Sarah Park, Past Chair

Community Systems LeadWend Collective

Vickie Wilson

Executive DirectorFriends of Haven


Local Organizations
State-Level Organizations
National Organizations

2019 General Operating Support Provided By

  • Buell Foundation
  • Merle Chambers
  • El Pomar Foundation